(PHOTO) Seven former Decatur mayors gather in Decatur

Posted by Dan Whisenhunt October 19, 2017

Seven former Decatur mayors, representing decades of leadership going all the way back to the 1969, took part in the Mayor’s Mile event in Decatur on Oct. 7.

The event was part of a fundraiser for theĀ 4/5 Academy at Fifth Avenue (F.AVE) PTO and the Decatur Education Foundation. More than 500 runners registered for the race, which had 34 sponsors.

Here are all the mayors who were able to attend.

From left to right: Bill Breen, 1969-72, Ann Crichton,1977 – 1979, Bill Floyd, 1998 – 2013, Walt Drake. 1975-1976, Michael Mears, 1985 – 1993. Elizabeth Wilson, 1994-1998, Jim Baskett, 2013 – 2015. Also pictured are three F.AVE students who won an essay contest. They are: Kara Diamond, Madeline Fogt and Emily Deeb. Photo provided by Kelly Walsh

Subscribe to our mailing list to get the latest news from Decaturish!

About Dan Whisenhunt

Dan Whisenhunt is editor and publisher of Decaturish.com. https://www.linkedin.com/in/danwhisenhunt

View all posts by Dan Whisenhunt

Receive the Daily Email DIgest

* = required field
error: Alert: Content is protected !!