Ho Hum, Only One Contested Decatur Election in Nov.

Posted by Decaturish.com August 28, 2013

Qualifying for the Nov. 5 Decatur elections ended Wednesday with only one contested election. Lewis B. Jones and C. Mark Arnold will battle for the District 1, Post A seat on the city school board.

The seat is now held by Mark Wisniewski, the board chairman who decided not to run again. District 1 is north of the railroad tracks.

Jones is a lawyer and Arnold a financial executive. Both have been involved in the school leadership team at Renfroe Middle School.

There will be one other new face on the school board in January, when the election winners take office.

Annie Caiola, a lawyer, is the only candidate running for Valarie Wilson’s at-large seat. Wilson decided not to seek re-election.

Bernadette Seals is running again for her District 2, Post A on the school board and faces no opposition. She’s the board vice chairwoman.

For the city commission, two incumbents face no challenge. Fred Boykin qualified for his District 1, Post A seat and Patti Garrett for her District 2, Post A seat.

About Decaturish.com

View all posts by Decaturish.com

Receive the Daily Email DIgest

* = required field
error: Alert: Content is protected !!