Type to search

DeKalb Elections swears in new board

campaign coverage Metro ATL Trending

DeKalb Elections swears in new board

FILE PHOTO USED FOR ILLUSTRATION PURPOSES: Carol Calvert holds a sign during a ‘Get out the Vote’ rally hosted by the Avondale Alliance for Racial Justice in Avondale Estates on September 19, 2020. Photo by Dean Hesse.

This story has been updated.

By Logan C. Ritchie, contributor 

DeKalb County, GA — The DeKalb County Elections Board welcomed two new members on July 7.

Judge Bedelia C. Hargrove administered the official oath of the DeKalb County Board of Elections this morning, swearing in new and returning board members. Susan Motter, Dele Lowman Smith and Anthony Lewis are back; Nancy Jester and Karli Swift were appointed this year.

Appointed by DeKalb County Republicans, Jester is a former DeKalb County commissioner and served on the DeKalb County Board of Education.

Swift was appointed by Judge Asha Jackson as the fifth member of the board, and is an activist and co-founder of Georgia Onward, a political action committee.

Each board member serves a two-year term.

Board members promised to “prevent any fraud, deceit or abuse,” “make a true and perfect return of such primaries and elections” and “duly, impartially and faithfully perform duties in accordance with GA law.”

After the short ceremony, Hargrove congratulated board members.

“I know you have a lot of work ahead of you, but that’s nothing new for DeKalb County. That’s what we do in DeKalb County, we work. So let’s just enjoy where we are at this time, and keep it moving,” said Hargrove.

DeKalb County Commissioner Ted Terry welcomed board members, noting his enthusiasm for forming the contested working group.

“We want to continue that partnership with the Board of Registrations and Elections moving forward, as we talk about budget needs, policy changes, and other supports to ensure free and fair elections her in DeKalb,” said Terry.

The first regular meeting of the Elections board is July 8 at 4:30 p.m. A new chair and vice chair will be elected at that time.

Correction: An earlier version of this story incorrectly stated who Swift was appointed by. This story has been updated with the correct information. 

If you appreciate our work, please become a paying supporter. For as little as $3 a month, you can help us keep you in the loop about your community. To become a supporter, click here

Want Decaturish delivered to your inbox every day? Sign up for our free newsletter by clicking here.