Type to search

Legislature approves DeKalb County School District redistricting map

Avondale Estates Clarkston Decatur Kirkwood and East Lake Metro ATL Stone Mountain Tucker

Legislature approves DeKalb County School District redistricting map

DeKalb County School District Administration and Instructional Complex on Mtn. Industrial Blvd. in Stone Mountain. Photo by Dean Hesse

Atlanta, GA — The Georgia General Assembly approved the DeKalb County School District map on March 1 after going through the redistricting process.

Representatives and senators who represent DeKalb County drew their versions of the map in each respective chamber.

Sen. Emanuel Jones (SD-10) introduced Senate Bill 466 in early February that redrew the school board districts and maintained the seven districts. SB 466 was ultimately adopted by the General Assembly.

The DeKalb County School Board did not submit a map directly to the DeKalb House delegation, so Rep. Karla Drenner (D- Avondale Estates) took the current districts, submitted them to the state reapportionment office and had them corrected for any population shifts, which she submitted under House Bill 1235.

The only difference that she is aware of is that the Senate map has had more public input than the House bill, Drenner previously said.

The DeKalb County School Board chair worked with Jones to draft a map for the DeKalb Senate delegation, School Board member Allyson Gevertz, who represents District 4, wrote in a Facebook post.

“For BOE District 4, the main differences between the current lines and the Senate version are that District 4 loses the following precincts: Skyland (John Lewis Elementary) and Valley Brook. No precincts are added. (Both the House and Senate versions have new sections of precincts already in District 4 added.),” she wrote on Facebook.

The population ranges from 98,963 people to 100,842 people for each district. Districts 1, 2, and 6 each have about 100,000. Districts 3, 4, 5, and 7 each have about 99,000 people living in the districts.

The Georgia General Assembly adopted the DeKalb County School Board district map on March 1 with minimal changes. Photo courtesy of Sen. Emanuel Jones’ office.

If you appreciate our work, please become a paying supporter. For as little as $3 a month, you can help us keep you in the loop about your community. To become a supporter, click here

Want Decaturish delivered to your inbox every day? Sign up for our free newsletter by clicking here.